Collaborating to Create Healthier Communities
Community Health Needs Assessments and Implementation Plans
FY13 – 15

The mission of CHI Health calls us to collaborate with others to improve the health of the communities we serve. Now, we have the ability to collaborate regionally on the health issues that impact us most. Creating healthy communities is central to our mission, vision and tradition. The Patient Protection and Accountable Care Act adds new requirements upon not-for-profit hospitals to collaborate with the community to identify health needs and develop strategies to address the needs identified. One of those commitments is to ensure that CHI Health communicates the needs assessments and implementation plans with consumers.

CHI Health partners with local health departments, community representatives and other health systems in our marketplace to conduct a “Community Health Needs Assessment” (CHNA) every 3 years. A CHNA is a process whereby the community gathers and evaluates health related data and seeks community input to identify and prioritize the health needs of the particular community. A community action plan is then developed to leverage community assets and act upon the unmet community needs. Leadership from CHI Health hospitals led or participated in these local processes. We use the CHNA process to identify participation in community coalitions and to guide our Community Benefit investments. A Assessment of the CHNA process, implementation plans and CHI Health’s participation is provided below.

The full CHNA and implementation reports are downloadable in PDF form at the links below. A paper copy of the CHNA and implementation reports will be provided at no cost by contacting:

Kelly Nielsen
12809 W. Dodge Road
Omaha, NE 68154 

We welcome your comments about CHNAs at the address above.

Bergan Mercy Medical Center; Creighton University Medical Center; Immanuel Medical Center; Lakeside Hospital; Mercy Hospital; Midlands Hospital - Omaha/Council Bluffs Metro Area
(Douglas, Sarpy, & Cass Counties - NE and Pottawattamie County, IA) 

Mercy Hospital - Corning, Iowa
(Adams & Taylor Counties)

Community Memorial Hospital - Missouri Valley, Iowa
(Harrison County)

Plainview Hospital - Plainview, NE
(Antelope, Boyd, Brown, Cherry, Holt, Keya Paha, Knox, Pierce and Rock Counties, NE)

Memorial Hospital - Schuyler, NE
(Colfax County, NE)

Kearney, NE:
Buffalo County
Good Samaritan

Kearney, NE:
Lancaster County
Richard Young Behavioral Health Center

Kearney, NE:
Buffalo County
Good Samaritan TCU

Lincoln, NE:
Lancaster County
Nebraska Heart

Lincoln, NE:
Lancaster County
St.  Elizabeth

Grand Island, NE:
Hall County
St.  Francis

Nebraska City, NE:
Otoe County
St.  Mary's